Pretty Little Pieces

Welcome to Prettylittlepieces!

My name is YiHeng and I am currently working as a teacher. However, it wasn’t always my dream to become an educator. When I was in high school/ college, it was always my dream to do something more creative in the future – not that teaching isn’t creative, but it’s a different type of creative. I had once dreamed of being a designer, a model, an artist, even becoming a baker and opening my own bakery. I even had the name picked out and everything. However, I was always told that those choices were not practical and so ultimately I decided to become a teacher.

Why did I create this blog?
Lately however, I have felt like I am stuck in a rut. I’m turning 30 in a few months and I feel like my life  for the past 8 years has been an endless cycle of coming to work, teaching, grading, planning, sleeping and then repeat. I’m hoping that by starting this blog, I will be able to awaken some of the crazy spontaneity and creativity I had when I was younger. I am hoping this blog will inspire me and be a creative outlet in my life.

So why a blog about fashion?
I’ve actually always loved fashion. Since I was a little girl, fashion was always an important part of my life. When I was little, I used to go to school dressed in clothes that no one else wore. I wore bell bottoms to school before they were cool, and by the time other girls were wearing bell bottoms, I had already moved on to cargo pants. In high school, I wore my favorite pair of converse high top sneakers when everyone else was obsessed with Sketcher brand sneakers. So, when I was thinking about what I wanted to blog about, I thought blogging about fashion would be perfect for me.

What do I hope to accomplish with this blog?
Basically, I am hoping to share with people my thoughts and ideas on fashion. I have always fiercely believed that there is no right and wrong when it comes to fashion (for the most part, although there are some exceptions). To borrow the words of Heidi Klum of Project Runway, one day you are in and another are out. So, I don’t want this blog to be about what you should wear and what you shouldn’t wear, but rather what I have been wearing lately, fashions that others have been sporting, and trends that I feel will become big.

What can readers hope to see on this blog?
I’ve been really thinking hard about what I want to do with this blog. I am hoping that I will be able to come up with different themes for my posts, for example Outfit of the Day, The Look for Less (Which used to be one of my favorite TV shows on the now nonexistent Style network. Which I kind of understand why they got rid of that channel, but I still feel sad about it), and Trends. These are just tentative themes, but kind of give you an idea about how I am hoping to set up this blog.

I am really looking forward to taking this journey with everyone. Until my next post, I am wishing everyone a wonderful week and stay fashionable!

Leave a Reply

