Friday Fashion Trend #3 – Day 1

Usually my Friday Fashion Trends are related to a specific trend that I feel is worth mentioning. However, this week’s Friday Fashion Trend is going to be a little different. Rather than talk about a trend, I would like to talk about a specific store. I will also be breaking this post down into the next three days because I have so much I want to talk about, and it might be too much for one post.

The store that I want to talk to you about for todays’ Friday Fashion Trend is Gap. Now, before I go on, I would just like to say that in no way is Gap paying me any money to say these things about them. The reason I have decided to dedicate this Friday Fashion Trend to this store is because I really think that Gap is a store that is underappreciate.

First, a little history lesson, before I talk about why I love Gap (If history is not your thing, ignore this post and come back tomorrow). According to Wikipedia (where we get all our information now-a days) and some other sources, I learned that the first Gap store opened its doors on Ocean Avenue in San Francisco on August 21, 1969, by Donald and Doris Fisher. Named “The Gap,” it referred to the generation gap between the Boomers and the previous Silent Generation.

Originally “The Gap” was just a store that sold Levi’s and LP records. After reaching US$2 million in sales the first year, Donald and Doris went on to open their second Gap store in San Jose, California is 1970. That same year they established their headquarters in Burlingame, California, with only four employees. By the year 1973, the company had stores in over 25 locations and had expanded to the East Coast, with the first store located in Voorhees, New Jersey. By 1974, only five short years after they first started, Gap began selling private-label merchandise. Over the years Gap only continued to grow. By 1992, after acquiring Banana Republic, starting GapKids, expanding internationally to London, and starting BabyGap, Gap was the second-largest selling apparel brand world-wide, only behind Levi Strauss.

In the 1990s, Gap continued to dominate the market and grow by opening its first Gap Outlet and Old Navy Stores, and by expanding further internationally. However, by the late 1990s, Gap sales were declining, and in 2001, Gap posted a US$7.7 million loss. This was also around the times when stores like H&M and Forever 21 started becoming major competitors in the fashion industry. Retailers like these were all based on the idea of selling mass-produced runway inspired stock, and Gap was no longer deemed “cool” in the eyes of the 14-25 year market it was targeting. Since then, Gap revenues have continued to decline and unfortunately more and more Gap stores have started to close.

I however, have continued to love Gap stores and tomorrow I will be talking about the first reason why I think Gap is just as good, if not better than stores like Forever 21 or H&M.

Please visit my pinterest for GAP stuff that I am loving!

Leave a Reply

