Friday Fashion Trend #6

Pantone_Color_of_the_Year_Marsala_Color_Intelligence_Banner
Pantone’s Color of the Year – Marsala

Every year on the first Thursday of December, everyone waits with bated breath as Pantone announces to the world their pick for “Color of the Year.” Truthfully, the last few years of color choices have really been hit or miss with me. I have either really liked them, or really hated them. (Please check back on my blog if you want to hear me rant about the previous Pantone colors of the year, as well as why Honeysuckle is a stupid name for a color). See list below for the complete list of Pantone Colors of the Year.

Anyways, back to the topic on hand. This year Pantone announced the 2015 color of the year as “Marsala.” According to Pantone’s website, Marsala, like the wine, is a red-brown color that Leatrice Eisemen is quoted saying

“Marsala enriches our mind, body, and soul, exuding confidence and stability. Marsala is a subtly seductive shade, one that draws us in to its embracing warmth.”

Personally, I love Marsala. I think this may be one of my favorite Colors and the Year colors. The reason I love Marsala so much is because it really is a wonderful color that I feel works on 99% of skin tones. It is extremely easy to incorporate into your wardrobe and the clothes that you currently have. To me, Marsala is also the continuation of the Oxblood trend that was huge in the Fall/Winter seasons of 2012 and 2013, although more faded and earthy.

How Do You Incorporate Marsala into your Wardrobe?
Like I mentioned above, Marsala is a super flattering color that works on a lot of people. Looking on various Fashion websites and pinterest, I also think most people are also taking the liberty of extending the Marsala color to also include similar shades like Burgundy, Oxblood, Bordeaux, etc. which also makes Marsala an easier color to find. So how do you wear it?

  1. I think one of the easiest ways to wear Marsala is to buy a pair of Marsala (or any other one of the reds I mentioned above) jeans. Simply wear it in place of your typical blue jeans with a simple neutral colored outfit. Pairing Marsala was a simple black top and black shoes creates a much more interesting color combination than all black, plus the black really causes the Marsala to pop. Pair a pair of Marsala pants with a white blouse (a la Alexa Chung) really spices up the white.
  2. If for some reason you would prefer not to wear the color Marsala as clothes, then I would recommend you purchase a pair of Marsala Shoes. They can be any type of shoes (boots, booties, sneakers) anything! For inspiration, check out my pinterest to see some of my choices. What is wonderful about Marsala (or any other dark red) is it can function almost like a neutral. Like I mentioned above, pair your Marsala shoes with all white or all black outfits and it definitely adds a pop of color, as well as make your shoes standout. However, you can still pair them with a simple pair of skinny jeans (lean towards more of a darker wash, it’ll look better ) to make them look more sophisticated.
  3. The last way I want to mention that you can wear Marsala is to wear it as part of your makeup routine. Red lipsticks have been a huge trend for the past few years. Shake it up by choosing a darker red to give yourself a mysterious vibe. If you are not a lipstick person, feel free to wear it on your nails. Marsala-like nails have also been huge. OPI has some great deep red shades that I personally love. You’ll want to purposely point at everything just to show off those nails.

I hope this post helped you think of ways to wear Pantone’s color of the year – Marsala. Please check out my pinterest below for some pretty little pieces in Marsala or Marsala-like colors that I am loving. Also please comment down below if you enjoyed this post!

Leave a Reply

