New Year’s Resolutions thus far

thanks-not-laughing-absurdly-new-years-ecard-someecards
It’s been a week since the start of the year 2015, and despite my positive post on New Years a few days ago; I have to admit this year is not starting off well. So, I want to take a few minutes to reflect on the resolutions I made for the New Year and see how well (or badly) I am doing so far.

I skipped resolution #1for now, because it was to make and keep my New Year’s resolutions and in order to determine how well I am doing, I need to see how well I am doing with my other resolutions.

Resolution #2 – To keep up with this blog
Since it has only been a week since my last post (YAY!) as opposed to like 6 months, I would say that so far I am doing pretty good. I am hoping to have a new Friday Fashion Trend this Friday (1/9) and if all goes well, I will continue to post regularly. I will admit that I have had a ton of work dumped on my head since January 2nd, which is when I went back to work, and I currently feel like I’m drowning in papers, but I am trying really hard to balance my work and personal life so fingers crossed.

Resolution #3 – Chase after my dreams
So far I can’t really comment about this resolution. It’s only been a week, and while I admit I have not done anything as of yet, this is still something that I plan on doing. I have been talking with my colleagues and people who are in the same situation as me, and getting a little more insight on other people’s opinions on this matter (do I stay working at my job that allows me to be financially stable, but I have really grown to dislike, or do I give it all up to chase my dreams?) so hopefully I’ll be able to think about it some more. I also have to really think about what makes me dislike my job so much this year. In all honesty, there is only one aspect of my job that I really dislike and the question is really do I dislike it so much that I want to give it all up?  I think I will be dedicating a post all about this sometime soon, so stay tuned.

Resolution #4 – Lose Weight
This resolution has been a complete FAILURE so far. . I was hoping that a New Year would mean a fresh start, but I am already swamped under a mountain of work for my job, which means that I have not gotten my lazy ass off the couch in a week, much less exercise. On most days, I come home from work, settle myself on the couch in front of my computer, and say in that position for 90% of the time working. Honestly, the only time I have been getting up is to eat or to use the bathroom. (Just as a side note – I am eating potato chips as I type this, so that drives the final nail into the coffin for resolution #4).

Resolution #5 – Get out and meet new people
For the past three years, I have been slaving away at my job. I have let it consume my life to the point where I don’t actually have a life anymore. I have distanced myself from friends, I make excuses not to go out because I’m exhausted or I have too much to do, and I have basically become a cat lady, but without any cats. I was recently talking to a colleague about how I felt, and she had expressed that she felt the same exact way, but was also trying to get out more. A few days ago, she forwarded me a link to a website called New Jersey Young Professionals or NJYP (their website is http://www.njyp.org/). Founded by Laura Occhipinti, NJYP hosts 20-30 events official events per month which allow young professionals (between the ages of 21 – 39) living in NJ to go to and meet new friends. To become a member, all you have to do is pay a one-time $20 fee and that’s it. You don’t actually have to become a member in order to attend events, but by becoming a member, you can get into the events for cheaper. While I admit I haven’t actually gone to any of the events, I am planning on becoming a member and I am hoping to get my butt to one of these things asap!

This brings us back to my first resolution, which was  – To make and keep my New Year’s resolutions!
So how am I doing so far? If I really had to give myself a score, I would have to say that so far I am a 2.5 out of 5. I gave myself a point for every resolution I am actively attempting to keep (Resolution #2) and ½ a point for each resolution that I haven’t given up on, but haven’t done anything about or have made little headway (Resolution #3 and 5). I didn’t give myself any points for thus far failing to keep Resolution #4, and then I tacked on ½ a point for Resolution #1 – Hey I am trying!!

I plan to post again about my resolutions in a month. Hopefully by then my score will be a little better!

Leave a Reply

