Freezing Cold Winter in NJ

So today I will be posting about the reason why I was really thinking about scrapping yesterday’s FFT.  I took two days off of work this week because I was fighting a major cold. I felt fatigued, I had major sinus issues, and a horrible headache. Now, one of the things I absolutely hate is being cooped up in the house. When I was little, my parents used to joke that I was like a little dog, who needed to go out and be walked every once in a while. If I didn’t get out of the house, I would start getting restless and jittery. So, being sick, plus the freezing cold weather this winter in NJ meant I had been cooped up in the house for a while. I finally couldn’t stand it yesterday. So after school yesterday, I dragged my mom with me to Carnegie Lake because I had recently heard that our very cold winter this year caused part of the lake to freeze over, solid enough that people could actually ice skate on it. This hasn’t happened in a while, at least not within the last 5 years that I can remember, and I really wanted to document it. So, armed with my DSLR camera and my mom, I drove over to Princeton. OMG, it was such an experience! The lake was frozen over and there were a lot of people on the ice. Some were ice skating, some were playing makeshift games of ice hockey. I saw a group of runners running across the ice wearing only their running shorts. I even saw a little boy dragging his sister across the ice on a sled. It was wonderful. My mom and I were there for about 30 minutes, and for the first 25 minutes, everything was fine. It started to get really cold after a while, so I told my mom I wanted to get one last picture before we left. Well, that’s when disaster struck. Honestly, I don’t even remember completely what happened. All I know is that I felt my leg shoot out from under me, and the next thing I know, I am flat on my back, the back of my head having hit the ice first. The fall was enough the knock the breath out of me for a few seconds. After the fall, a few people who were ice skating nearby and saw me fall rushed over to see if I was ok, of which I am grateful. Somehow, I managed to make my way back to my mom, who was sitting on the edge of the pond, walk back to where my car was parked, and drive home. Worried that I might have gotten a concussion, my mom then spent the rest of the night grilling me on my multiplication table and holding up fingers for me to count. Considering I did manage to write a coherent FFT post yesterday, I’m going to say that I think I’m alright. However, I currently have a massive bump on my head, and my neck is really really really sore and stiff from whiplash.  Please check out the pictures I risked my life taking yesterday below. And I wish everyone a safe and accident-free winter.

Leave a Reply

