Friday Fashion Trend #21

Interesting Winter Sweaters

Today’s Friday Fashion Trend is a list of interesting winter sweaters that will make changing in the freezing cold winter morning feel just a little bit better. These are sweaters that are more than just your boring, boxy winter sweaters, but are still guaranteed to keep you nice and toasty warm.

  1. The Lace Up Sweater: This past spring, my Pinterest board was blowing up with pictures of people wearing lace-up tops. One particular top was the Reformation Avalon Body Suit that everyone was wearing (Ashley Benson, Vanessa Hudgens, Candice Swanepoel, just to name a few) Unfortunately, that body suit is sold out now, but fashion designers have jumped on the whole lace up trend and applied it to winter sweaters. What a great way to inject a little interest and personality to typical boring bulky sweaters !One of my favorite lace up sweater is the Isabel Marant Charley Sweater.  I love the different ways you can style this sweater depending on how you feel. Simply add a pair of ripped jeans and wear a beanie for a cool laid back girl vibe. Or pair the sweater with a cute wool pleated skirt, some knee high socks and and a pair of ankle boots for a more innocent yet classy vibe. But my favorite way to pair this sweater would be a pair of super chic, super classy pair of navy dress pants and my silver oxfords, for the perfect work outfit.
  2. The “Mock” Turtleneck Sweater: I have absolutely been obsessed with Madewell’s Cashmere Convertible Turtleneck Sweater since I found it shopping online at the beginning of winter. However, I really hate their sizing. Everything is super small, and their Large is like a Medium everywhere else. Considering my height and size, I would literally need a XXL to maybe even an XXXL in order to fit the sweater and not have it look like it was painted on my body. However, I still felt like I had to share this sweater with everyone because it really is a wonderful concept for a sweater. Basically, this sweater is a 100% cashmere sweater with a round collar, but has button located on the inside back collar that allows you to attach a collar to make it look like your sweater is now a turtleneck sweater. This basically means that it is a two-in-one sweater, which means you could wear the same sweater twice in one week and no one would be the wiser. And although the $228 original price is a little on the high side, it is currently on sale for $169.99, but HURRY because there are only a few colors and sizes left!
  3. The Split Sweater Tunic: I saw this sweater in Anthropologie at the beginning of winter and I just knew that I had to get it. In fact, I did get it and in both the raspberry and the ivory color. I absolutely love this sweater because there are so many ways that I can wear this. The first way to wear it is how they show it on the Anthropologie website. Simply pair it with skinny pants for a very chic look. I have also tucked the front of the sweater into my pants so that it looks like I am wearing a sweater that is short in the front and super long in the back. The last way is to wear this sweater belted over leggings for a almost dress feel.

I don’t know about you guys out there, but although the winter started off late this year in the North East, it certainly came with a bang, dumping us with over two feet of snow. However, I know that if I had these cute sweaters, I would feel totally cool, but really be totally warm!

Please check out my Pinterest board to see the two sweaters I talked about above, as well as some similar ones.

 

Leave a Reply

